Minutes AGM 10 June 2013


Draft Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on Monday, 10th June 2013 at 7pm in Ardgay Hall

Present: Elected members: David Hannah, Chair (DH), Alan Lawrence, Treasurer, (AL),

Marion Turner, Acting Secretary, (MT), Phil Olson (PO), Betty Wright (BW),

David Laver (DL), Bob Sendall (BS), Teresa Langley (TL)

Also present: Highland Councillor George Farlow (GF), PC Ian Gollan at 7.15pm

Minutes Secretary: Mary Goulder (MG)

Apologies: None

Item 1/2. Welcome/Apologies (see above). Chair David Hannah opened the meeting welcoming everyone at 7.00pm.

Item 3. Minutes of last AGM, June 11th 2012. The Minutes from the last AGM were read by DH after which they were adopted as a true and accurate record. Proposed: Alan Lawrence; seconded: Betty Wright.

Item 4. Chairperson’s report. Chair’s report opened with a tribute to the late Peter Armstrong and called for a moment’s silence in which to remember him.

DH spoke of partnership links developed with all neighbouring Community Councils and the Kyle of Sutherland Development Trust, members of which were thanked for their ongoing work on behalf of the CC and the community. Through involvement with the SSE (Achany) and EoN (Rosehall) Windfarms Panel the CC continues to help support a wide range of local groups and organisations to their mutual benefit. In the coming year the CC will work more closely with Ardross and Edderton CCs on proposed windfarms community benefit schemes. A new panel will not be formed; each CC will administer the grants process in its own area. Administering the Ardgay and District tranche of community benefit within the Beinn Tharsuinn Fund has led to a total of thirteen awards worth £11, 879.40; nine of these awards were made jointly with Creich Community Council for projects to benefit both communities. The A&DCC makes awards of up to £2,000 for smaller projects and application form and guidelines are available on the CC website, in the Service Point and via any CC member.

CC meetings have been made less formal to encourage public attendance with the first half hour of each meeting dedicated to public contributions and awareness. Various speakers have attended throughout the past year to update the community on a wide range of local issues. The newsletter team has recently secured funding through the SSE & EoN Community Fund to enable newsletter production over the next three years. The newsletter is an excellent form of communication and source of local information. Thanks were expressed to the many locals who help with delivery to each dwelling in the district. Phil Olson was especially thanked for maintaining the excellent CC website. Thanks also went to all CC members for their work on both the CC and the many and varied other committees on which they sit.

Local Highland Councillors George Farlow, Linda Munro and Hugh Morrison were commended for their commitment to the CCs throughout the Ward, in particular Cllr Farlow who is the main link for A&DCC. Jeannie Sparling’s excellent work with floral displays and maintaining the public toilets to a high standard was also warmly appreciated.

Item 5. Treasurer’s report. AL passed round copies of the audited accounts to the end of year at 31st March 2013.These were approved; proposed: David Hannah, seconded: Betty Wright. AL pointed out that the final balance was less than in the previous year and stated he expected this trend would be followed in the present year. The grant from Highland Council barely covers secretarial costs and with no real income to the Project Account, financial embarrassment is likely by about half way through the year. The Toilet Account appears to operate within budget. Cllr Farlow agreed to urge swift payment of the HC grant payable immediately on receipt by HC of the AGM Minutes and accounts. GF Action.

Item 6. Appointment of Office Bearers. Cllr Farlow assumed the Chair for the purpose of electing the Office Bearers. Present incumbents stood down. The election results were as follows:

Position Nomination Proposer Seconder

Chair                            David Hannah               Marion Turner                Bob Sendall

No other nominations; David Hannah accepted the position and re-assumed the Chair.

Treasurer                      Alan Lawrence               David Hannah               Betty Wright

Secretary                      Teresa Langley              Phil Olson                     Betty Wright

Both of these accepted the positions. As in previous years it was agreed not to appoint a Vice Chair. In rotation CC members will take the Chair should DH be unavailable for any meeting.

Mary Goulder was invited to continue as Minutes Secretary; she accepted the position.

During the election of Office Bearers the meeting was briefly interrupted to take the Police report from PC Gollan. The minute of this item is recorded in the minutes of the monthly meeting which followed after the AGM.

Item 7. Any other business. Cllr Farlow indicated that at present the three Highland Councillors in the Ward wish to maintain the status quo with regard to which one attends which CC meetings. The continuity this will provide was welcomed. All three HC members pass through Ardgay regularly so it may transpire at a later date that a change to this arrangement may become beneficial.

DH reminded members to return their ‘Register of Interests’ information to him even if there is no relevant commitment, to keep the file records up to date. Declarations of interest must be made during meetings at any time they are relevant to matters under discussion. On this topic DH stated that he is the CC representative to four groups, Citizens Advice Bureau, Highland Small Communities Housing Trust, Voluntary Groups – East Sutherland and the ‘Achany’ Panel. This last has upcoming vacancies and members were asked to seek out likely candidates and encourage them to submit nomination forms. Publicity and nomination forms are circulating now (available from CC members, the Service Point and on the CC website).

It was agreed there will be no summer recess month with January being the sole holiday break.

Meeting closed at 7.40pm (approx).

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.